At the start of July, Martello Building Consultancy started a project to refurbish one of the iconic buildings that stands on the old Folkestone Harbour site – the surviving section of the old Custom House.
The Folkestone Harbour Custom House was built in 1859 to a design by architect James Murray as part of the wider development of the harbour and its railway station. Today only a small section of this grand building remains, the remainder having been largely destroyed during World War Two. This image shows the original plans for the building – the small red highlighted section is all that remains today.
Folkestone Harbour Company commissioned the full refurbishment of the building to provide an exhibition space, initially as part of the Folkestone Triennial, which begins on 2nd September. The extensive works include; full structural repairs to the existing building, a new flat roof, a new polished concrete floor, purpose made joinery doors and windows to match the original joinery, external re-pointing and rendering and a complete electrical and internal fit out.
One of the most striking features of the building is the imposing face of Poseidon charismatically looking out across the harbour from above the main entrance. In Greek mythology Poseidon was the god of the sea and other waters and, in particular, was the protector of seafarers.
The impressive restoration works to the building are being undertaken by a variety of contractors; Martello Building Consultancy acting as the Technical Architect, Quantity Surveyor and Contract Administrator. The Design Architects for the project are ACME. Project Engineering is being undertaken by Considine and the Main Contractor for the project is local company Jenners.
We’re really excited to see and share the completed work on this beautiful old structure so keep an eye on our social media pages and website – we know it will be a stunning addition to the Harbour Arm and Folkestone Harbour Project.